Skip to Main Content

Libraries

Return to Library Home Page

Library Staff - Login to LibApps

Nursing Ed.D Library Guide

Guide to Library Resources for the Ed.D Nursing Program at WCSU

Techniques

 Now that you have systematically identified your search vocabulary, you are now able formulate a database-ready search statement/strategy using one or more search techniques. The following list consists of techniques you can use to ensure a powerful, focused and effective search. No more scrolling through pages of results you don't want! While you will find that all databases offer these search features, there may be differences in formatting and procedures. Be sure to read the search help content for each database, to ensure that you are using the right formats and characters. It will save you time and effort in the long run.

 

Here are the most commonly used search strategy tools & techniques: 

  • Boolean operators
  • Nesting
  • Using Wildcards (*, ?) and Truncation (*, ?, !, +)
  • Proximity Operators
  • Quotation Marks ("alzheimer's disease")
  • Limiters
  • Singulars/Plurals

Use Boolean Search Logic

 

Using the subject headings/descriptors, keywords and keyphrases you have identified in the "Determining your Research Vocabulary" section, you will now learn how to construct a Boolean search strategy using Boolean search logic.

WCSU Librarian Joan M. Reitz, in her book ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science (2004), defines Boolean logic as a system that

allows the user to combine words or phrases representing significant concepts when searching an online catalog or bibliographic database by keywords.

In the Boolean system, there are three logical commands oroperators: AND, OR, and NOT. It usually doesn't matter if you enter the operators in lower case or upper case. Almost every database search system accepts the Boolean.

The AND command is used to narrow search results. Each time another concept is added using "and," the search becomes more specific. In most online databases, keywords will be searched as a phrase if not separated by "and." The OR command is used to expand retrieval by including synonyms and related terms in the query. The NOT command is used to exclude unwanted records from search results. Use with care only when necessary!
Ex. "cognitive learning" and "nursing education" Ex. "collaborative teaching strategies" or "collaborative learning" Ex. "nursing education" not theory
Ex. "nursing shortage" and "baby boomers" Ex. "Professional identity" or "professional values" Ex. "nursing careers" not "home health care"

What is Nesting?

 

When two different Boolean commands are used in the same search statement, parentheses must be included to indicate the order in which they are to be executed. Words enclosed in parentheses are searched first: The left phrase in parentheses is searched first; then, based upon those results, the second phrase in parentheses is searched. This technique is called nesting. Nesting is often used to "mark off" separate concepts by grouping together synonyms or related terms connected with OR. Nesting also provides a clear visual structure useful in developing, analyzing and modifying your search.  Nesting functions the center no matter what database you are searching.

Examples of Nesting

  • (teaching or instruction) and ("learner centered approach" or "student centered approach")
  • (instructional technology or instructional design) and (adult learners or mature learners)
  • (student centered approach or learner centered approach) and (measurement or assessment or test)

Using Wildcard (?) and Truncation (*) Symbols

Use the wildcard (?) and truncation (*) symbols to create searches where there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings. Neither the wildcard nor the truncation symbol can be used as the first character in a search term.

  • Use of wom?n will find results with women and woman
  • Use of wom* will find any terms that begin with wom, such as woman, women, womanly, womanizer, women's
  • Use of child* will find any terms child, children, childish, and so on ...

Use Proximity Operators

 

You can use a proximity search to search for two or more words that occur within a specified number of words (or fewer) of each other in the databases. Proximity searching is used with a keyword or Boolean search.

In Ebsco databases such as CINAHL, the proximity operators are composed of a letter (N or W) and a number (to specify the number of words). The proximity operator is placed between the words that are to be searched, as follows:

N

Near Operator (N) - N5 finds the words if they are within five words of one another regardless of the order in which they appear.

For example, type tenure N5 promotion to find results that would match tenure and promotion as well as promotion and tenure.
W

Within Operator (W) - In the following example, W8 finds the words if they are within eight words of one another and in the order in which you entered them.

For example, type distance W8 learning to find results that would match distance learning but would not match learning at a distance.

Using "Quotation Marks"

 

Typically, when a phrase is enclosed by double quotation marks, the exact phrase is searched. This is not true of phrases containing stop words. A stop word will never be searched for in an EBSCOhost database, even if it is enclosed in double quotation marks. A search query with stop words only (i.e. no other terms) yields no results.

Examples of where using quotation marks is helpful:

Ex. 1: "evidence-based practice"

Ex. 2: "adult learning"

Ex. 3: "medical-surgical nursing"

Limiters and Expanders

 

You can also select any limiters or expanders available in the database you are searching. Get into a habit of scanning your database search screen to see what limiters and expanders are available to you. Advanced search screens tend to have more options than Basic search screens.

In ERIC and CINAHL, useful limiters include:

  • Date of publication (useful for retrieving most current literature)
  • Peer reviewed (use to retrieve scholarly articles from refereed journals)
  • Full text articles(use only if you need to retrieve the full article right away; NOT recommended if you are conducting a comprehensive search)
    • Full text articles will either be in PDF or HTML format. PDF documents use Adobe Acrobat software and present an exact image of the original print-based article; HTML documents present article text in a web-based format. HTML documents do not include original print pagination, therefore reference list citations must include the database from which they were retrieved.
  • Publication type (journal article vs. practice guidelines, for example)

Be sure to explore the "search tips" and

Subjects: Nursing